WatchLevantQuestion

MilitaryExternal military supportActive

Is Iranian support reaching Hezbollah and the Palestinian armed groups in Lebanon and the Palestinian territories, and is it intercepted on the Lebanese side?

Arrival, not transit — reported transfers, Lebanese seizures, US designations, Lebanese measures and Palestinian-channel evidence, five registers kept apart.

Opened
Last reviewed
Status as of
Reviews
4 since 2026-10-12
Confidence
Low confidence

Open in Explore View on map All Levant questions

3 places named by this question

Levant: Israel, the Palestinian territories and Lebanon

A Watch question is not a forecast. It names the evidence that would change an assessment and records what each review found — including the reviews that found nothing moved.

Where it stands

Standing assessment

Current assessment

Low confidenceAs of

Reported, contested and unattributed. Reuters reported on 7 October, citing two sources, $200m from Iran to Hezbollah in September for the displaced; the State Department says the money "is not there". The US Treasury on 20 August named a courier network carrying cash on commercial flights between Lebanon, Türkiye, the UAE and Iran, and re-designated Hizballah as IRGC-QF-controlled, a US claim. Lebanese forces seized explosives on 1 October, in the week before 12 October and on 12 October; Lebanon ties none to Iran. The flight ban is not reported lifted. No primary evidence of Iranian transfers to Hamas or PIJ since 2025 is found.

Latest reviewMovement observed

Observed

Evidence, no observable met. The 30 October charges name party members, and an unnamed judicial source gives delivery in Baalbek and receipt in Beirut's southern suburbs, but the charge sheet was not read and no state text read ties the consignment to Iran or to a supply line in the state's own words. The Bank Saderat decision is still unread; the Palestinian register is still empty.

Assessment

New evidence bears on the question; the assessment holds. The condition stands as of .

  1. 2026-10-12: Baseline
  2. 2026-10-18: Movement observed
  3. 2026-10-25: Movement observed
  4. 2026-11-01: Movement observed

4 reviews since 2026-10-12

Full review ledger

What would change the assessment5 assessment-change conditions · qualitative, as the record states them

  1. A transfer into Lebanon documented by an official finding and not denied by the government whose finding it contradicts

    Assessment effectestablishes arrival rather than a contested report and changes what the Lebanese disarmament steps are measured against.

  2. A seizure on Lebanese territory that the Lebanese state itself attributes to Iran or to a supply line to Hezbollah

    Assessment effectestablishes interception by Beirut in its own name and is a different finding from a US or Israeli attribution.

  3. A Lebanese decision lifting the flight ban or restoring the Iranian envoy

    Assessment effectreopens a route the state closed and is recorded as a reversal of a restrictive measure.

  4. Primary evidence of Iranian transfers to Hamas or PIJ

    Assessment effectfills the empty register and bears directly on whether Gaza decommissioning can be complete.

  5. A documented transit or a named network on the Syrian side, recorded on syria/iranian-re-entry

    Assessment effectchanges what reaches the Lebanese border and is read here only where it arrives.

Observables5 named · “met” describes evidence, not success

  1. 01Test

    A transfer into Lebanon or the Palestinian territories reported

    Money or materiel from Iran recorded as arriving, by an official finding or by two independent lines, with any denial recorded beside it. Israeli, Iranian and Hezbollah statements are recorded as claims only.

  2. 02Test

    A seizure on the Lebanese side tied by the state to the supply line

    Cash, weapons or explosives seized by the army, the Internal Security Forces, General Security or customs on Lebanese territory — airport, port, internal checkpoint, the Lebanese side of the border — with the state's own attribution recorded verbatim. Seizures inside Syria are the Syria module's.

  3. 03Test

    A US designation naming an Iranian channel to Hezbollah, Hamas or PIJ

    A Treasury or State action that names an Iran-to-Hezbollah, Hamas or PIJ channel, courier or facilitator. Designations of these groups' financing that name no Iranian link are recorded but do not count.

  4. 04Test

    A Lebanese government measure against the channel

    A decision by the Lebanese state on the route rather than the arms — the flight ban's status, the Iranian envoy's status, regulation of Al-Qard Al-Hassan or exchange houses, or a Framework fund-blocking step — recorded with its enforcement where reported.

  5. 05Test

    Primary evidence of Iranian transfers to Hamas or PIJ

    An official finding, a court record or two independent lines documenting Iranian money or materiel reaching Hamas or PIJ in Gaza or the West Bank since 2025. Advocacy material and inference from past conduct do not count.

Review ledger4 entries · opened · newest first, each tied to the review that made it

  1. Movement observed

    Evidence, no observable met. The 30 October charges name party members, and an unnamed judicial source gives delivery in Baalbek and receipt in Beirut's southern suburbs, but the charge sheet was not read and no state text read ties the consignment to Iran or to a supply line in the state's own words. The Bank Saderat decision is still unread; the Palestinian register is still empty.

    Brief item Lebanon's Military Court prosecutor charges 13 people over the seized explosives, eleven of them in absentia, and the case stays out of the Judicial CouncilReviewed in 2026-11-01

  2. Movement observed

    The summons and the cabinet's deferral advance the Dahr al-Baidar case, but no named Lebanese official, statement or indictment has attributed the consignment or tied it to Iran, so the interdiction marker stays unmet. The Banque du Liban's Bank Saderat decision is still unread, and the Palestinian register is still empty.

    Brief item Lebanon summons two Hezbollah officials over the seized explosives, then defers the strongest judicial forumReviewed in 2026-10-25

  3. Movement observed

    Movement in two registers, neither observable met. Interdiction: Hezbollah claimed the Dahr al-Baidar cargo (15 October), but no named Lebanese official has attributed it; Salam promised to widen the inquiry, and the Hezbollah membership of the detainees rests on an anonymous judicial source. Restrictive measure: the central bank revoked Bank Saderat Iran's licence (reported 15–16 October), framed by its governor as protecting the banking sector, with no channel named. No one Lebanese tied either to Iran.

    Brief item Hezbollah claims the explosives Lebanon seized, while the state still names no ownerReviewed in 2026-10-18

  4. Baseline

    Opened by the Levant P6 monitoring pass. Baseline: one contested transfer report (Reuters, 7 October, denied by the State Department); the last US action naming an Iranian channel on 20 August; three Lebanese explosives seizures in October, none tied by Lebanon to Iran; the flight ban not reported lifted and the March agrément withdrawal on record; and an empty Palestinian register.

Connected system29 canonical records this question runs through · Watch owns the edge; each record shows the question back

Parties and forces 11

Means and systems 1

Ground 3

Arrangements and events 9

Vigil analysis 6

Open this question in Explore Interactive: select this record and follow what connects to it.

Confidence: Low Moderate on the record — the Treasury release, the seizures, the ambassador decision and the denial are documented. Low on the question itself, because transfers are largely unobservable and the one recent report of one is contested by a government. Sources: US Department of the Treasury — press releases and OFAC actions on Hizballah and Palestinian armed groups↗ · US government statements and documents on Israel, Gaza and Lebanon · Reuters↗ · The Times of Israel↗ · Associated Press↗ · Lebanese Armed Forces — official communiqués↗ · Lebanese government statements and decisions (Presidency, Council of Ministers, ministries)↗ · L'Orient Today / L'Orient-Le Jour↗ · US / EU / UK sanctions designations Methodology Corrections

Assessed as of — 2026-10-12 Last reviewed — 2026-11-01

Watch on Levant All Watch questions Levant overview